MLB Home Run Derby Winners

The annual Home Run Derby during the All-Star break is one of the most enjoyed moments of any given MLB season outside of Opening Day and the Playoffs

| Read: 2 min

It's certainly not the type of place that you will see a Punch and Judy hitter in the lineup, that's for sure. In order to win, you need to be able to rely on prodigious power. You need to be able to mash 450ft homers with ease. You need to love the smell of burning wood off of a bit.

A List of Winners by Year (and Stadium)

Year Winner Field
1985Dave Parker (Reds)Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome (Twins)
1986*Wally Joyner (Angels)Astrodome (Astros)
1986*Darryl Strawberry (Mets)Astrodome (Astros)
1987Andre Dawson (Cubs)Oakland–Alameda County Coliseum (Athletics)
1988No Contest
1989Eric Davis (Reds)Anaheim Stadium (Angles)
1990Ryne Sandberg (Cubs)Wrigley Field (Cubs)
1991Cal Ripken Jr. (Orioles)SkyDome (Blue Jays)
1992Mark McGwire (Athletics)Jack Murphy Stadium (Padres)
1993Juan Gonzalez (Rangers)Oriole Park at Camden Yards (Orioles)
1994Ken Griffey Jr. (Mariners)Three Rivers Stadium (Pirates)
1995Frank Thomas (White Sox)The Ballpark in Arlington (Rangers)
1996Barry Bonds (Giants)Veterans Stadium (Phillies)
1997Tino Martinez (Yankees)Jacobs Field (Indians)
1998Ken Griffey Jr. (Mariners)Coors Field (Rockies)
1999Ken Griffey Jr. (Mariners)Fenway Park (Red Sox)
2000Sammy Sosa (Cubs)Turner Field (Braves)
2001Luis Gonzalez (Diamondbacks)Safeco Field (Mariners)
2002Jason Giambi (Yankees)Miller Park (Brewers)
2003Garret Anderson (Angels)U.S. Cellular Field (White Sox)
2004Miguel Tejada (Orioles)Minute Maid Park (Astros)
2005Bobby Abreu (Phillies)Comerica Park (Tigers)
2006Ryan Howard (Phillies)PNC Park (Pirates)
2007Vladimir Guerrero (Angels)AT&T Park (Giants)
2008Justin Morneau (Twins)Yankee Stadium (Yankees)
2009Prince Fielder (Brewers)Busch Stadium (Cardinals)
2010David Ortiz (Red Sox)Angel Stadium of Anaheim (Angels)
2011Robinson Cano (Yankees)Chase Field (Diamondbacks)
2012Prince Fielder (Tigers)Kauffman Stadium (Royals)
2013Yoenis Cespedes (Athletics)Citi Field (Mets)
2014Yoenis Cespedes (Athletics)Target Field (Twins)
2015Todd Frazier (Reds)Great American Ball Park (Reds)
2016Giancarlo Stanton (Marlins)Petco Park (Padres)
2017Aaron Judge (Yankees)Marlins Park (Marlins)
2018Bryce Harper (Nationals)Nationals Park (Nationals)
2019Pete Alonso (Mets)Progressive Field (Indians)
2020No Contest
2021Pete Alonso (Mets)Coors Field (Rockies)
2022Tuesday, July 19thDodger Stadium (Dodgers)

Home Run Derby FAQs

Which player has won the Home Run Derby the most?

Ken Griffey Jr. has the most HR Derby victories with 3 all-time. The Kid won in 1994 at Three Rivers Stadium, 1998 at Coors Field, and 1999 at Fenway Park.

Yoenis Cespedes and Pete Alonso each have two victories. Alonso does have a chance to catch Griffey, while Cespedes is out of the game.

No one else has won the Derby more than once, which is stunning when you read the list of participants. That list includes annual MLB HR Leaders, Barry Bonds, Sammy Sosa, Mark McGwire and more.

Have any players won back-to-back Derbies?

Actually, yes, three players have won back-to-back HR derbies. Those three players are Griffey, Cespedes and Alonso.

Which players have won the HR Derby at their Home Field?

Three MLB hitters have won the Home Run Derby at home. They include:

Which Stadium has hosted the Home Run Derby the most?

Coors Field, the home of the Colorado Rockies, has hosted the most Home Run Derby matches with a count of two. Yes, we know, not a very high number, but the MLB All-Star game rotates every year through all of the teams in the league.

Coors Field hosted the match in 1998, when Ken Griffey Jr. won his second derby (out of three victories), and last year in 2021, when Pete Alonso of the Mets out-smashed Trey Mancini of the Orioles.

References & Sources